fitness journey

Why Girls lift

If you are like me and you lift, you MUST have come across the most banal question ever in existence, “Why do you lift? Aren’t you scared of becoming big?”

IMG_20170205_134858_371To this, I ask, what is the definition of big and why being a girl makes people ask me this.

Our body is the only vehicle we have this life and we should expect to make it the best version of what it is. Be it yoga, pilates or weights, there are various fitness regimes that make you feel super healthy and do things you never thought you could ever do.

It is a wondrous feeling and having lived on the opposite end of the scale for ages, I can truly appreciate the feeling of strength that pulsates through my body after I finish a workout.

For the longest time, I could barely jog for 10 minutes and now I am sprinting and running for 1 hour, lifting weights almost as heavy as me and being so energetic that people think I am younger than I actually am.

This is a small post but the bottom line is, make your body the best version of itself and if lifting does that for you DO IT and ignore everyone else.

A shoutout to my inspiration Bani Judge!!

Leave a Reply

