Travel Fitness

WhatsApp Image 2017-04-16 at 12.51.48As lover of travel and fitness, I find it very difficult to maintain a healthy balance between the two.

I live in two extremes, in gym wear for weeks, working out and then an all out fashionista when I travel and work. This involves eating amazing food, trying new cuisines and not hitting the gym.

When I was in Rome for 4 days, I pigged out on Italian food and amazing wine, so much so that by the time I was back home in London, I had put on a few pounds and lost some muscle mass. Undeterred, I carried on in my India trip, dishing out amazing Indian food and not working out enough. I did not gain any weight but did lose some muscle mass.WhatsApp Image 2017-04-13 at 21.04.28 (1)

So, this easter break, when I was travelling to Norway, I was determined to create a great balance between my fitness and love for travel and food. Here is a quick pointer of the things I did:

  1. Completed the lean body program with a strict diet and did not slack for the month before the trip.
  2. I knew I would be hungry, so I stocked up with lean protein bars with the intention of keeping a high protein intake.
  3. I planned some easy to do body weight room workouts which took 15 mins but left me feeling amazing and fit.
  4. I walked as much as possible and avoided eating unnecessary foods.
  5. I stuck to my strict diet timetable with a high carb and high protein breakfast, a decent sized lunch and high protein dinner.
  6. In the four days that I was there, I ate just one desert.
  7. I found a cathedral with huge steps and ran up and down one day for an amazing high.
  8. I kept up my coffee intake which gave me energy and kept my appetite down.
  9. Portion control is very important and I made sure I kept my butter and fat intake as low as possible and stuck to lean meats like chicken and fish.
  10. And I avoided all carbonated drinks, no diet sodas or even beer sticking to a glass of wine.WhatsApp Image 2017-04-15 at 16.48.24

As a result of this, today, as I worked out in the gym, I felt stronger than I have ever felt and did not lose any muscle definition. Even though my stamina was lower than before, I did not gain weight and my fitness level is as high as ever.

So maybe, I can balance travel and work.

2 comments

  1. Woo well done!! It’s great to hear that people are able to make their travel and fitness work hand in hand. All it takes is a few calculated changes to your routine and it pays off. Good efforts, keep it up 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

