body positivity

Cocktail Confessions

My journey is something I always talk about but when I came up with this idea of confessions of other people and their body issues, I did not think I would meet so much resistance.

Back home, in London, and even in the whole of the UK, body acceptance is at an all time high. My idol, Anne Marie shows a regular sized body and everywhere in the media you will see regular sized people. As a filmmaker, I know how the camera adds some pounds. There will be skinny heroin chicks and buxom beauties. They will ALL be there.

As a big fan of Bollywood, I have been disappointed by the past few years where Indian women, known for their curves are going under the knife and dieting to ape the 90’s skinny American girls. The world is moving forward and Bollywood is going backwards.

But, coming to the point. As a body activist, I am not going for skinny shaming of glorifying obesity as I have been accused of. I am looking to help people love and accept their bodies the way it is.

As a fitness coach, I don’t advocate a weight or a size but the rush of endorphins and a happier and healthier lifestyle. I have seen the difference in my own body that it now rejects unhealthy items like cigarettes, alcohol and junk food. I want to run. I want to lift weight, I want to skip and be happy. THAT IS FITNESS.

So, with my cocktail confessions series, I started by talking to a sufferer of PCOS who suffered to facial hair and obesity and mental health issues. In the course of this, I am still in talks with other people but so far, the response in India has been appalling.

I have had a “fit” person ask me how is a fit person body shamed?

I have had another person tell me that you ned to be thick skinned and ignore the comments.

And a skinny person being rude to me saying he does need to eat.

I am fighting against labels. Just like the ones I used above.

Body shaming is a person judging you for your body first and your personality later.

Body shaming is you feeling the need to hide a regular bodily function because people cannot accept that. Period stains anyone?

Body shaming is people taking the liberty to call you fat or complimenting you on losing weight.

Anyone commenting on your body without your consent is body shaming.

Find the first episode of cocktai; confessions here and if you want to be a part of it, contact me.

Leave a Reply

